top of page

The Hidden Treasures of Hanuman Chalisa: Deciphering Its Profound Meaning in English - Part 4

Shri Hanuman Ji - Hanuman Chalisa Meaning in English
Image Source Unknown

In the sacred realm of Hindu devotional literature, the Hanuman Chalisa stands as a timeless masterpiece. Its verses, composed by the saint-poet Tulsidas, resonate with devotees across the globe, offering solace, guidance, and inspiration. While many recite this cherished hymn, few have had the opportunity to explore its intricate meaning. In this post, we embark on a journey to decipher the Hanuman Chalisa's profound significance, unveiling its meaning in English.

This is the last part of the 4 articles that explain the Meaning of Hanuman Chalisa in English.



"Asht Siddhi Nau Nidhi Ke Daata, Asa Bar Deen Janaki Maata."

  • "Asht Siddhi Nau Nidhi Ke Daata" means "You bestow the eight siddhis and the nine treasures."

  • "Asa Bar Deen Janaki Maata" translates to "You fulfill the wishes of Mother Janaki (Sita)."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse highlights Hanuman's divine ability to grant the eight mystical powers (siddhis) and the nine types of wealth (nidhis) while emphasizing his deep connection with Mother Janaki (Sita) and his readiness to fulfill her wishes.

"Ram Rasaayan Tumhare Paasa, Saadar Ho Raghubati Ke Daasa."

  • "Ram Rasaayan Tumhare Paasa" means "You possess the elixir of devotion to Lord Rama."

  • "Saadar Ho Raghubati Ke Daasa" translates to "You are always devoted to Lord Rama, the Lord of the Raghus."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse acknowledges Hanuman's deep devotion to Lord Rama and his possession of the divine elixir of devotion, making him a humble servant of Lord Rama, the Lord of the Raghus.

"Tumhare Bhajan Ram Ko Paavai, Janam Janam Ke Dukh Bisaraavai."

  • "Tumhare Bhajan Ram Ko Paavai" means "Through your devotion, one attains Lord Rama."

  • "Janam Janam Ke Dukh Bisaraavai" translates to "The sorrows of countless lifetimes are forgotten."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse emphasizes that through devotion to Hanuman, one can attain the presence and blessings of Lord Rama, and all the sufferings accumulated over countless lifetimes can be alleviated and forgotten.

"Antakaala Raghuvarapura Jaai, Jahaan Janma Haribhakta Kahaai."

  • "Antakaala Raghuvarapura Jaai" means "At the time of death, one departs to the city of Lord Rama."

  • "Jahaan Janma Haribhakta Kahaai" translates to "Where it is said that the devotee of Lord Rama is born."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse conveys the belief that those who are devoted to Lord Rama will attain liberation and go to the divine abode of Lord Rama upon their passing, where they are born as His devoted servants.

"Aur Devata Chitta Na Dharai, Hanumat Sei Sarva Sukh Karai."

  • "Aur Devata Chitta Na Dharai" means "One should not fix their mind on other deities."

  • "Hanumat Sei Sarva Sukh Karai" translates to "All happiness and comforts are bestowed by Hanuman."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse underscores the idea that by focusing one's devotion on Hanuman and not diverting the mind towards other deities, Hanuman bestows all happiness and comforts upon them.

"Sankat Katai Mitai Sab Peera, Jo Sumirai Hanumat Balbeera."

  • "Sankat Katai Mitai Sab Peera" means "All troubles are cut and every pain is removed."

  • "Jo Sumirai Hanumat Balbeera" translates to "Those who remember Hanuman, the mighty warrior."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse emphasizes that by meditating and remembering Hanuman, the great and powerful hero, all troubles and pains can be eliminated.

"Jai Jai Jai Hanuman Gosai, Kripa Karahu Guru Dev Ki Naai."

  • "Jai Jai Jai Hanuman Gosai" means "Hail, Hail, Hail Lord Hanuman, the Lord of the monkeys."

  • "Kripa Karahu Guru Dev Ki Naai" translates to "Bestow your grace, O Guru Dev."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse is an expression of praise and devotion to Hanuman, seeking his blessings and the grace of the divine guru.

"Yah Sat Baar Paath Kar Joi, Chhootahi Bandi Mahaa Sukh Hoi."

  • "Yah Sat Baar Paath Kar Joi" means "One who recites this seven times."

  • "Chhootahi Bandi Mahaa Sukh Hoi" translates to "Is freed from bondage and experiences great happiness."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse suggests that those who recite the Hanuman Chalisa seven times will be liberated from bondage and will experience immense joy and contentment.

"Jo Yah Padhe Hanuman Chalisa, Hoy Siddhi Saakhi Gaurisa."

  • "Jo Yah Padhe Hanuman Chalisa" means "Whoever reads this Hanuman Chalisa."

  • "Hoy Siddhi Saakhi Gaurisa" translates to "Attains success, as witnessed by Lord Shiva."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse suggests that those who recite the Hanuman Chalisa with devotion will achieve success and blessings, and Lord Shiva himself witnesses and acknowledges their achievements.

"Tulasidaasa Sadaa Hari Cheraa, Keejai Naatha Hriday Man Deraa."

  • "Tulasidaasa Sadaa Hari Cheraa" means "Tulsidas always remains a servant of Lord Hari (Rama)."

  • "Keejai Naatha Hriday Man Deraa" translates to "O Lord, make your abode in my heart."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse expresses the devotion of Tulsidas to Lord Rama and his prayer for Lord Rama to reside in his heart.



"Pavan Tanaya Sankat Haran, Mangal Moorati Roop,

Raam Lakhan Seeta Sahit, Hriday Basahu Sur Bhup."

  • "Pavan Tanaya Sankat Haran" means "The son of the wind, the remover of troubles."

  • "Mangal Moorati Roop" translates to "The embodiment of auspiciousness."

  • "Raam Lakhan Seeta Sahit" means "Together with Lord Rama, Lakshmana, and Sita."

  • "Hriday Basahu Sur Bhup" translates to "Reside in my heart, O Lord of the gods."

Detailed Meaning:

This verse praises Hanuman as the one who removes troubles and obstacles, embodies auspiciousness, and is a divine presence along with Lord Rama, Lakshmana, and Sita. It also expresses a heartfelt request for Hanuman to reside in one's heart.

With this, we've deciphered the meaning of the Hanuman Chalisa in English, shedding light on their spiritual significance. Share this wisdom with others and spread happiness.

Previous parts:

1 view


bottom of page